JBAS011469 Error in Junos Space

9 09 2016

Just went onto a customer’s Junos Space/Security Director installation to discover that their SRX5800 was showing as ‘out of sync’.    I tried to do a ‘Resynchronize with Network’ from the Device Operations menu, but this failed with the following error:

Error while reading config from device: <devicename> javax.persistence. TransactionRequiredException: JBAS011469: Transaction is required to perform this operation (either use a transaction of extended persistence context)
jbas011469

JBAS011469 error in Space 15.2

Unfortunately (like most Space-related errors) there’s nothing about this in Juniper’s knowledgebase – the only hit I found on a Google search was a similar error, but with a different cause that had been fixed.   So I thought I’d put this here in case it helps anyone.  

The solution in the end was to update the DMI schema for the device. The SRX5800 had been upgraded from 12.1R3.5 to 12.3X48-D30.7 but the schema within Space had not.  I downloaded the appropriate schema, and now the device re-syncs just fine.


Actions

Information

3 responses

9 09 2016
Pablo Valcárcel Lázaro

Sorry for my unknowledge and lack of experience about this but shouldn’t update DMI schemas after “firmware” upgrades? In this link http://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos-space14.1/platform/topics/concept/junos-space-getting-started-dmi-schema-overview.html describes what you have experienced: ” It is important that you load all your device schemas into the Junos Space Network Management Platform, otherwise only a default schema will be applied when you try to edit a device configuration using the device configuration edit action in the Devices workspace ” so I guess you were applying default schema…then I guess you should update all dmi schemas Junos Space/Security Director after any upgrade or it won’t be able to manage any device because keeps old/default dmi schemas if I understand it rigth.

14 09 2016
DataPlumber

Yes – that’s true. Normally a default schema works enough to allow the device to sync with space, but you should update to a matching DMI schema really.

In this case, the default schema that was being applied was preventing sync happening. I didn’t know the device had been upgraded, so we didn’t proactively update the schema. We need to be more joined-up I think!

30 11 2016
Wasif Basharat

In my case the schema and firmware were on same version but i was still getting this error. Restarting Junos Space did the trick for me.

Leave a comment